About me

Bernhard Kabelka

My name is Bernhard (or Bernie for short). I am child of the 1980s, and grew up in (and still live in) Vienna, Austria. My greatest passion is travelling. This blog is therefore mainly dedicated to my travelling adventures.

I just love to explore foreign (and, if possible, far away) countries. I have already spent my vacations on six different continents, and have (quite literally) travelled all around the globe: first in an eight-months-long RTW trip from September 2008 to May 2009, and again in another RTW trip from October 2023 to Februar 2024. But also during my regular vacations, I strive to get to know new places all over the world.

At the same time, I really enjoy my everyday life in my home town Vienna. Most of my friends live there, and I like to meet them e.g. for board game nights, going to the theater, or simply for a chat. In summer, I take advantage of Donauinsel for biking and inline skating, or for swimming in and stand-up paddling on Alte Donau. Finally, every once in a while, I also go hiking at the foothills of the Austrian alps close to Vienna – beautiful scenery cannot only be found abroad, after all!

When I am not roaming the world, I am spending my days as a software developer: After my studies of Technical Mathematics at UT Vienna, I have worked at PROFACTOR, a research company in Steyr (Austria), for three years, focusing on computer simulation and production planning. Since summer 2009, I am employed as a software developer at Dedalus HealthCare (formerly Agfa HealthCare), where I am working on the PACS client DeepUnity Diagnost (formerly IMPAX EE).

696 Articles

Über mich

Bernhard Kabelka

Mein Name ist Bernhard (wobei ich im englischsprachigen Ausland oft auch Bernie genannt werde). Ich bin ein Kind der 1980er-Jahre und in Wien geboren und aufgewachsen, wo ich noch immer lebe. Meine große Leidenschaft ist das Reisen, was auch Hauptthema dieses Blogs ist.

Ich liebe ich es also, fremde (und am besten auch sehr ferne) Länder zu entdecken. Meine Reisen haben mich dabei bereits (wortwörtlich) um die ganze Welt geführt: Von September 2008 bis Mai 2009 habe ich eine erste Weltreise unternommen, und seit Oktober 2023 bin ich auf meiner zweiten Weltreise. Doch auch in "normalen" Urlauben versuche ich immer wieder, neue Flecken der Erde zu entdecken.

Gleichzeitig fühle ich mich in meiner Heimatstadt Wien im Alltag aber auch sehr wohl. Viele meiner Freunde sind dort zu Hause, mit denen ich mich z.B. gerne zu einem Spieleabend, einem Theaterbesuch, oder einfach zum Plaudern treffe. Im Sommer genieße ich die Nähe zur Donauinsel für Rad- und Inline-Skate-Ausflüge, oder das Schwimmen in und Stand-up-Paddeln auf der Alten Donau. Schließlich verschlägt es mich auch hin und wieder zum Wandern in die Wiener Hausberge – denn nicht nur ferne Länder, sondern auch Österreich hat schließlich eine wunderschöne Natur zu bieten!

Wenn ich nicht gerade die Natur rund um Wien oder in der großen weiten Welt genieße, verbringe ich meine Zeit als Software-Entwickler: Nach dem Ende meines Studiums der Technischen Mathematik an der TU Wien habe ich drei Jahre lang bei der Forschungsfirma PROFACTOR in Steyr im Bereich Computersimulation und Produktionsplanung gearbeitet. Seit Sommer 2009 bin ich bei Dedalus HealthCare (vormals Agfa HealthCare) tätig und arbeite dort an der Entwicklung des PACS-Clients DeepUnity Diagnost (vormals IMPAX EE) mit.

688 Beiträge