Europe Canada United States Central America South America Africa Caucasus South Asia East Asia Australia New Zealand

[Imagemap]

[Foto] [Foto]

I travelled around the "Old Continent", Europe, already as a teenager: For example, I have been on numerous (beach) holidays in Greece, where I have also been sightseeing (at least during my late stays), as well as on several city breaks in Italy.

However, I discovered the real joy of travel quite late, namely in autumn 2003 during my Auslandssemester (study abroad) in New York City. Since then, I have travelled a lot, as you can also see on my Travel Plan and/or my Travel Statistics:

  • From 2003 to 2006, I visited the United States every year. In 2009 and 2010, I returned again for several weeks each.
  • In summer 2004, I spent one month in Australia.
  • A year later, I enjoyed a month-long holiday in Canada. I returned to this beautiful country in 2006, this time on a tour through the "Atlantic Maritimes" organized by the travel company Footloose.
  • In late 2008 and early 2008, I enjoyed my first holiday in South America: I spent just under a month in Argentina and Chile (mostly in Patagonia) on a Viventura tour.
  • Between late September 2008 and mid-May 2009, I departed again on a long trip. This time, it was indeed by a really long trip – a RTW trip! This brought me to New Zealand and Central America for the first time. Some four and seven years later, respectively, I returned to these regions for two more months each.
  • In autumn 2014 and autumn 2015, I managed to visit the Caucasus region for the first time.
  • Around Easter 2015, I made my first trip to South Asia – more precisely, to Nepal on a tour organized by Exodus.
  • In autumn 2016, a three-weeks-long trip to China took me to East Asia (for the second time, after a stay in Taiwan during my RTW trip).
  • At the same time, from 2003 until today, I have spent over half a year (on more than two dozen trips) travelling in Europe.
[Foto] [Foto]
[Foto] [Foto]

NB: The European Flag as well as the flags of the Central American Integration System, the Union of South American Nations, the African Union, and the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation in the world map above should be understood to represent all countries of the respective (sub)continent, not only the members states of the respective association. Moreover, the historic flag of the Qing dynasty was chosen symbolically for the whole of East Asia, even though they never ruled the whole region.

Europa Kanada USA Mittelamerika Südamerika Afrika Kaukasus Südasien Ostasien Australien Neuseeland

[Imagemap]

[Foto] [Foto]

Den "alten Kontinent", Europa, habe ich bereits als Jugendlicher angefangen zu erkunden: Ich war zum Beispiel unzählige Male auf Badeurlaub in Griechenland, was ich auch (zumindest teilweise) zum Sightseeing genützt habe, oder auch mehrmals auf Städteurlaub in Italien.

Mein Reisefieber wurde allerdings erst recht spät so richtig geweckt, und zwar im Herbst 2003 dank meines Auslandssemesters in New York. Seitdem bin ich wirklich viel herumgekommen, wie auch in meinem Reiseplan oder meiner Reisestatistik ersichtlich ist:

  • Von 2003 bis 2006 war ich jährlich in den USA unterwegs. Auch in den Jahren 2009 und 2010 habe ich jeweils einige Wochen in den Staaten verbracht.
  • Im Sommer 2004 habe ich einen Monat lang Australien erkundet.
  • Ein Jahr später folgte zum ersten Mal ein (einmonatiger) Kanada-Aufenthalt mit Trek America. Im Jahr darauf war ich mit einer Tour von Footloose in den "Atlantic Maritimes" unterwegs.
  • Den Jahreswechsel 2007/2008 habe ich in Südamerika verbracht: Ich war einen knappen Monat in Argentinien und Chile (vorwiegend in Patagonien) auf einer Tour von Viventura unterwegs.
  • Von Ende September 2008 bis Mitte Mai 2009 folgte dann die nächste große Reise – und diesmal war sie wirklich groß, ich habe nämlich eine Weltreise unternommen! Diese hat mich unter anderem zum ersten Mal nach Neuseeland und nach Mittelamerika gebracht (wo es mich vier bzw. sieben Jahre später wieder für je zwei Monate hinverschlagen hat).
  • Im Herbst 2014 und Herbst 2015 haben mich zwei je zweiwöchige Reisen in den Kaukasus geführt.
  • Zu Ostern 2015 habe ich meine erste Reise nach Südasien, genauer gesagt nach Nepal, unternommen (und zwar auf einer Tour von Exodus).
  • Im Herbst 2016 folgte mit einer dreiwöchigen China-Reise schließlich ein zweiter Besuch in Ostasien (nach einem Aufenthalt in Taiwan im Rahmen meiner Weltreise).
  • Gleichzeitig habe ich auch Europa nicht links liegen gelassen: Auf über zwei Dutzend Reisen seit 2003 mit einer Gesamtdauer von über einem halben Jahr bin ich praktisch quer durch den Kontinent gereist.
[Foto] [Foto]
[Foto] [Foto]

Anmerkung: Die Europaflagge sowie die Flaggen des Zentralamerikanischen Integrationssystems, der Union Süddamerikanischer Nationen, der Afrikanischen Union und der Südasiatische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft in obiger Weltkarte sollen alle Staaten des betreffenden (Sub-)Kontinents symbolisieren und nicht nur die Mitgliedsstaaten der jeweiligen Institution. Ebenso wurde die historische Flagge der Qing-Dynastie nur symbolhaft für Ostasien gewählt, auch wenn nie die gesamte Region unter deren Herrschaft war.